Taking the plunge

“There’s a fire starting in my heart, reaching a fever pitch and it’s pulling me out of the dark.” ~Adele

So, I’ve decided to start blogging.

The idea of starting a blog was always interesting to me. As if by writing these public journals by packaging our thoughts and feelings into little bundles of paragraphs, symbols on a screen, and then sending them out like dandelion seeds to be snagged by the sticky netting of the world wide web we are somehow making a difference. We are able to express something magical, something that cannot go unsaid. Lately I’ve been experiencing so many amazing people, situations, and points of growth that I feel the need to share them. Is it egotistical? Perhaps, but I once read somewhere “never doubt that which you are compelled to offer” (I’m quite sure it was off someone’s blog!) So here I am. Sharing my slice of the human experience. What I feel compelled to offer is the ups and downs of my path as a yoga instructor and never-ending student. Sharing the places I’ve been, the people I’ve met, and the magnificent lights in others that I’ve seen blinking shyly from behind well-kept walls like fireflies fluttering between reeds in the darkest of night. And the journey from my own shadows into the light that I have been feeling more and more of a responsibility to let shine.

“We ask ourselves, Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, fabulous? Actually, who are you not to be? We were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us. It’s not just in some of us; it’s in everyone. And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same.” ~Marianne Williamson

I plan to include what I am working on in my classes and my own practice (which are oftentimes intertwined), music that inspires me, artwork, quotes, poems, photos, cartoons, jokes, random encounters with strangers, whatever it is that ignites that spark, that recognition of the abundant light that we are all privy to. Do you ever feel like you’re only using about 1/10 000 of your capacity as a human being? I do! We’ve been given this incredible gift to experience life and energy as a thinking being, and we spend so much of it worried about what others think, or married to our issues, or dulled to the point of inefficiency by our past wounds and the ensuing baggage they create. Then there are these “aha!” moments, these slivers of clarity, when I realize that there is nothing left to do but be happy! In fact, we should be overjoyed at every breath we have the pleasure of experiencing! This is infinity! There is only the Now, and we have the power to choose our thoughts and our reality in any given moment. It’s difficult, but yoga has given me the tools and the awareness to begin to do so. Thus I am prepared to be candid, honest, vulnerable, dedicated. Is this a blog about me? Yes. But since we are all connected in this wild ride around the sun and act as such effective mirrors for each other, I hope that sharing my ups and downs can perhaps help illuminate other souls who happen to stumble across my little pebble on the side of the information super highway. I’m going to really enjoy this. I hope you do too.

Namaste,

~C

Leave a Reply

